The assessor's office assigns a dollar value to all property for tax bills
The assessor's office assigns a dollar amount to each property to allow for tax bills to be made
The job of the Assessor is to place a value on all taxable real and personal property, within the county as of January 1, which is the assessment date set by statute. Each of the 115 County Assessor’s Offices in the state of Missouri are overseen and regulated by the Missouri State Tax Commission. Random visits by technical assistants and annual ratio studies on all three (commercial, residential, and agricultural) classes of property, aid the state tax commission in ensuring the assessor’s compliance with the state requirements.
Personal Property Assessment Lists are mailed the first week of January.
Return the completed list to this office by March 1 with no penalty. Assessment Lists received after May 1 are subject to a penalty from $15 – $105 based on the total assessed valuation.
It is the tax payer’s responsibility to notify this office of address and/or name changes. It is also the tax payer’s responsibility to notify this office if you do not receive an Assessment List.